UW University of Wisconsin Fount
  Rolf D. Reitz

Rolf D. Reitz


Prof. Reitz and his group have received the following awards:

  • ICLASS-2018 Arthur H. Lefebvre Award, Jul 26, 2018 -- link
  • ETH Zurich Aurel Stodola Medal Laureate, Nov 09, 2016 -- Link
  • SAE Myers award: Wissink, M., and Reitz, R.D., “Direct Dual Fuel Stratification, a Path to Combine the Benefits of RCCI and PPC,” SAE Int. J. Engines 8(2):2015., Apr 12, 2016
  • SAE John H. Johnson award for “Outstanding leadership in research in diesel engines”, Apr 12, 2016
  • Best paper: Investigating Fuel Condensation Processes in Low Temperature Combustion Engines (ICEF2014-5458), by Qiu. L. and Reitz, R.D., Oct 11, 2015
  • 2014 SAE John Johnson (ERC - PhD ME 64) Award: Outstanding Research in Diesel Engines: Hessel, R., Reitz, R.D., Musculus, M., OConnor, J.,and Flowers, D., "A CFD Study of Post Injection Influences on Soot Formation and Oxidation under Diesel-Like Operating Conditions," SAE paper 2014-01-1256. , Apr 11, 2015
  • SAE Myers award: Splitter, D., Wissink, M., DelVescovo, D., and Reitz, R.D., "Improving the understanding of Intake and Charge effects for increasing RCCI engine efficiency," SAE Int. J. Engines 7(2):2014, Apr 11, 2015
  • 2013 SAE Horning memorial award (co-author of SAE 2011-01-1182, but ineligible since also received award in 2012), Jun 18, 2013 -- Link
  • DOE Vehicle Technologies R&D Program Award, 2012 -- Link
  • ASME Internal Combustion Engine Award, 2011 -- Link
  • Institute for Liquid Atomization and Spray Systems (ILASS-Americas) William Robert Marshall Award (with student N. Abani), May 18, 2010 -- Awards
  • SAE Horning Memorial Award (with students D.A. Splitter, R. Hanson), 2010 -- Link
  • Best Paper Award, ASME ICE Fall Conf. (with T. Lachaux, M. Musculus, S. Singh) , 2009
  • UW-Madison, College of Engineering, Byron Bird Award for Excellence in Research Publication, 2008 -- Link
  • ASME Fellow, 2006 -- Link
  • SAE Arch T. Colwell Award (with student M. Subramaniam and sponsor M. Ruman), 2005 -- Link
  • ASME Soichiro Honda Medal, 2004 -- Link
  • Wisconsin Idea Fellow, University of Wisconsin System, 2004
  • SAE Forest R. McFarland Awards, 2004
  • Best Paper Award, ASME ICE Fall Conference (with students P. Senecal, D. Montgomery), 2000
  • Appointed Wisconsin Distinguished Professor, 1999
  • Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) Fellow, 1998
  • SAE Forest R. McFarland Awards, 1998
  • SAE Horning Memorial Award (with students Z. Han, G. Hampson, A. Uludogan), 1997
  • Institute for Liquid Atomization and Spray Systems (ILASS-Americas) William Robert Marshall Award (with student M. Patterson), 1995
  • Myers-Uyehara Fund Meritorious Paper Award (with student S.-C. Kong), 1994
  • SAE Distinguished Speaker Award, 1992
  • SAE Excellence in oral presentation award, 1991
  • SAE Horning Memorial Award (with student J. Naber), 1989
  • SAE Excellence in oral presentation award, 1988
  • Daniel and Florence Guggenheim Fellowships, 1974
  • MSc(Eng) awarded with Distinction, BSc(Eng) with Honors and Class Medal in Fluids,

Other awards include:

  • Nelson Institute for Environmental Studies Climate Leadership Challenge - http://www.sage.wisc.edu/clc/ (Students: S. Kokjohn, R. Hanson, D. Splitter), Apr 21, 2010
  • SAE Outstanding Speaker Award (Student Yu Shi), 2009
  • SAE Outstanding Speaker Award (Student Neerav Abani), 2008
  • ILASS best student paper (student H. Snyder), 1998
  • SAE Outstanding Speaker Award (student A. Lippert), 1997